City Ward Map & Information


Pursuant to the City Charter, the City is divided into 4 wards established by City Council to provide for the election of a Council Member to represent the residents of each ward. Article IV of the City's Charter mandates that Council revise ward boundaries if necessary following receipt of the population data from each federal census every 10 years or whenever necessary to achieve substantially equal population in each ward.

New Ward Boundaries

On June 21, 2012, City Council adopted an ordinance to establish new ward boundaries in the City to correct the imbalance resulting from the population growth that occurred in the City since the last census in 2000. The new ward map represents a relatively equal distribution of the City’s population between the 4 ward areas based on the most recent census population of 17,409 taken by the U.S. Census Bureau in 2010.

New Ward Map

The City’s new ward map has been submitted to the Board of Elections and will replace the current ward map in the City's Codebook. However, the new ward boundaries will not take effect until the next ward election on November 5, 2013 for new terms of office beginning January 1, 2014. The Board of Elections will notify Springboro voters of any changes in voting status as it pertains to their wards in preparation for the 2013 ward election.

New Population

The City's new population of approximately 17,400 has been divided among the wards as follows: Ward 1 = 4,100, Ward 2 4, 200, Ward 3=4,600, and Ward 4=4,500. In contrast, under the old ward boundaries, Ward 1 housed almost 40% of the City's population and Ward 4 housed only about 16% and were the areas requiring a more equitable distribution of the population.

New Ward Areas

The new ward areas can generally be described as follows:
  • Ward 1: The area east of SR741, north of Lytle Five Points Road including the majority of the Settlers Walk Subdivision, and west of SR741, generally north of Tamarack Trail including a portion of the Springbrook Subdivision.
  • Ward 2: The area on the eastern portion of Lytle Five Points Road consisting of a portion of Settlers Walk and the remaining subdivisions to the east.
  • Ward 3: The area east of SR741 and south of Lytle Five Points Road.
  • Ward 4: The area west of SR741, and south of SR73 and west of Clearcreek Franklin Road including the majority of the Tamarack, Wood Ridge, and Springbrook subdivisions.

More Information

If you have any questions or would like additional information, please contact Lori Martin, Clerk of Council at 748-4356.